Warhammer– in Germany?

Posted: October 15, 2013 by waterraven in Guest Posts, In the Field
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, well, dear readers! I bet you weren’t expecting a new post so soon! As it turns out, I cheated and had someone else write a post for us!

So here’s a look at Games Day in Colgone, Germany, focusing on War Hammer from our friend overseas, Marblehead Johnson!

 
Games Day in Cologne, Germany

So no shit there I was in Cologne, Germany waking up with a terrible hangover. It must have been at least 9 in the morning. I’m an early riser by nature. I don’t remember much from the morning besides taking a quick shower, putting on my clothes and waaaghing out the door with a map of downtown Colgone, Germany in my hands. I made my way to this prehistoric convention center that had been the site of a Neo-fascist rally the day before Luckily this day’s activities would be filled with space nazis, so I figured I would be in the clear.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI arrived at the site of the location an hour early hoping to beat all the lines there. Unfortunately, I was in about a 2km line waiting to get in the door, a fact made even worse by my rampant hangover and lack of cigarettes when then a Jeremy suddenly appeared with piping hot fresh German coffees and my own blueberry danish. And now a little about Warhammer:

Warhammer is a miniature tabletop game where two or more players take the roles of army generals in a sci-fi universe and battle against each other using their miniatures. As you can tell, this is definitely not an escapist game and I feel really mature talking about it. I’m going to need a drink if I’m going to talk about this. The more I talk about it the more and more foolish I feel. Anyway, I’ll provide a link to Games Workshop which is the parent company and the Wikipedia entry for Warhammer 40k. Below is one of the setups from Games Day.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere are some important things you need to know about Warhammer really quick. There is fantasy and sci-fi. By fantasy I mean like Lord of the Rings and all those other gay faeries and trolls and then for sci-fi there is 40k which is by far one of the coolest activities you can get into. I don’t know why it isn’t more popular (although it is pretty damn expensive). Here are a few more of the models from Games Day.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnyway, back to the line. Due to a strict German policy of not accommodating anyone, especially the customer, we waited in said line for two hours just to get in the door. After entering the door, I was quickly hit with a wall of BO, but I had dealt with this problem before as I had lived in Germany for almost a year at this point.

I have very little to relate about the activities in Games Day except that the site was ill prepared for the number of people as I stayed chiefly drunk through the entire day due to a local festival (the Atlstadfest) that was occurring right outside the door. Eventually I just got black out drunk and made fun of Germans. Pro tip: don’t do that.

Here are some pictures of me posing with people at Games Day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This article originally appeared here on Overseas Adventures.

Leave a Reply

